top of page

MDU115 - Week 9 & 10

This is a combination post for Week 9 & 10 (last week) as I wasn't able to attend class in week 9 due to being sick. I spoke with Jody however, and he informed me that we were beginning work on the final assignment - Asset Creation. I didn't have much time to look into the assignment brief however and so in class last week (Week 10) I began writing my assignment brief. Jody was hoping that all teh style guides would be complete by last Tuesday but I obviously wasn't able to present mine. I did however get the written component completed last week - but Jody did mention on his way out of class that the important thing he wanted to see, was designs of the asset of my choice, and not so much the written component.

We sat and spoke about the brief and what to consider when designing - I've chosen to design a sword and possible scabbard. Some of the previous assignment's issues were highlighted, such as the difficulty in designing over-complex looking models. This is an important point I'll take to the bank when modelling my concept. Jody mentioned as well that the finer details int he design should be done in the texturing phase as it's easier to get away with detailing in PS than in Maya - but in saying that, I need to make sure that my model is accurate enough, or exact enough so that the texture will still 'sit' properly and not look off.

Props to this guy ^ for his awesome glass, elven looking sword.

Throughout my research in my written brief, I've decided that the kind of sword I'll be designing is a futuristic/otherworldly sword - it won't be necessarily made of any existing, known metals, and will have elements (literal elements) that influence its design. I like the idea of a one of a kind sword that doesn't necessarily have a purpose (i.e The Sword of Justice, that smites evil!) rather, i'm looking to design a cool looking sword that perhaps was moulded by the planet itself (whichever planet that is where it came from) and sits patiently inside a cave, or at the top of a mountain, by a stream or in a sacred grove, waiting for somebody to pick it - and the person doesn't have to be a 'chosen one', it could be anyone - that's what I'm aiming for. Perhaps

one day, an adventurer is walking through the woods, gets lost, stumbles upon a grove, sees a moss covered sword sticking out of a stone, yanks it out and BLAM! He now holds a wicked sword that sprays fire when he swings it. That's what I'm after.

Later this week, I'll write the Week 11 blog where I'll upload and include some of the design sketches that I'll have ready for the style guide. Also, I haven't spoken too much about my design choices in this blog, because I did a LOT of that in the actual style guide.

- Ryan


bottom of page